Memoirs of a Personal Fitness Trainer

Posted: December 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

As a personal trainer, you fulfill many roles for a higher purpose. You are a scientist who prepares training programmes based on your knowledge of exercise science and at the same time, you are an artist who implements the training programme for your clients to ensure that they benefit optimally. You are an educator to facilitate your clients to ultimately be independent exercisers and enhance their quality of life.You are a psychologist who will identify negative behaviour and provide abundance of motivation to get them through that extra minute on the treadmill, extra repetition or even through their darkest periods where whatever they do don’t seem to work for them. You are an inspiration to them to promote a lasting health behavioural change. That’s what it’s about.

Many of my peers have questioned, “Why did you decide to become a personal trainer and spending so much time working when others are having fun out there?”

Apart from the first paragraph, I get a sense of intrinsic satisfaction when my clients have achieved their goals and beyond. The expression on their faces when it’s weigh-in time and speaking about the fitness improvements that they have achieved could effortlessly light up a whole town. And that allows me to know that I’ve fulfilled my purpose and will be more than motivated to take on a new challenge.

Secondly, I don’t consider this as “work”. As quoted, “Do what you love, and you’ll never work a day.” That explains it all. My clients are investing their time, effort and money in exchange for my expertise and time. Therefore, my commitment to them is of utmost importance.

Having been enlisted in National Service for the next 1 year and 10 months till 7th September 2013, it has certainly affected my chasing of dreams. But, the burning passion will carry on and reignite when my conscription has been served.

“If there is no passion in your life, then have you really lived? Find your passion, whatever it may be. Become it, and let it become you and you will find great things happen for you, to you and because of you.” T. Alan Armstrong

I HAVE LIVED.

Hasta la vista, baby.

Signing off,

Nicholas Chua

Comments are closed.